Sunday , January 21 2018
Home / Featured / UP election – 5th phase of voting underway in 51 seats in polls 2017

UP election – 5th phase of voting underway in 51 seats in polls 2017

ViewsHeadlines Desk,

Lucknow: The fifth phase of polling is underway in eastern part of Uttar Pradesh. The most populous state of the country, with 200 million population is voting for the assembly election in 7 phases.

All the major political parties are showing outward confidence of victory in the UP election 2017. It is notwithstanding that be it Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance or the BSP or for that matter BJP, they are badly confused over the pattern of voting.

There are indications that in the initially phases, the voting was in favor of the BSP, but poll pundits and political parties are unsure about how it went in latter rounds of polling.

voters in up

In the meantime, polling in 51 assembly constituencies spread across 11 districts of Uttar Pradesh began at 7 a.m. on Monday, albeit on a slow note primarily due to morning nip in the air. Over 1.84 crore voters will exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 617 candidates, including 43 women, amid tight security in the fifth of the seven phases of the assembly elections.

The voting in central and eastern part of the state is crucial and poll pundits want to see the percentage of the polling. High voter turnout means anti-incumbency playing its role in election.

Latest Delhi gang rape victim is a Delhi University student, 5 arrested

Kerala CM’s remark on Malayalam actress kidnapping condemned, as she joins shooting

List of AAP candidate for Delhi MCD elections 2017 – announces names for 109 wards

Ist India Australia Test match – Steve O Keefe humiliates hosts, score, highlights

Jayalalithaa’s niece launches MGR Amma Deepa Peravai – Who is Deepa Jayakumar, caste, education

Ramjas College ABVP protests – violence was not spontaneous

In today’s round of polling, people are casting their votes in districts of Bahraich, Basti, Balrampur, Gonda, Sant Kabir Nagar, Shrawasti, Siddharthnagar, Sultanpur, Faizabad, Ambedkar Nagar and Amethi districts. Voting for Alapur seat in Ambedkar Nagar, which was also to be held in this phase, was countermanded and then deferred to March 8 due to the death of the Samajwadi Party candidate. In the 2012 polls, the ruling Samajwadi Party bagged 37 of these 52 seats (including Alapur), the BSP three, Bharatiya Janata Party five, the Congress five and the Peace Party two.

About Admin1

Check Also

Cranberries lead singer Dolores O’Riordan dead, cause of death unexplained

ViewsHeadlines desk The sudden death of the Cranberries lead singer Dolores O’Riordan has shocked the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

16 − three =