Sunday , January 21 2018
Home / News / UP election 2017 – First phase polling underway, BJP, Congress, SP, BSP wary

UP election 2017 – First phase polling underway, BJP, Congress, SP, BSP wary

Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2017 began today and voting started at seven in the morning at 26,823 polling booths in the state. 73 assembly constituencies are being contested today in 15 districts. 32,441 AVM machines are being used in the first phase today.

The voters list of the state includes 1.42 crore men and 1.17 crore women and 1,511 people of the third gender. Together they make 2.59 crore strong list of voters. The turnout was slow in the early morning, but is expected to rise as the day progresses. The turnout mostly includes the younger generation.


All kinds of campaigning activities were banned since forty five hours before polling was to begin. No rally, road show, conference, and any other kind of public gathering is lawfully prohibited to facilitate peaceful polling. Security is tight in the polling stations today. In Muzaffarnagar 600 polling stations have been equipped with video cameras. About 6,000 Paralimitary personnel have been deployed in Muzaffarnagar and Shamli district to make sure peace is maintained.

Read more:

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017 Phase 1 Live Updates: Brisk voting being reported

Latest update from across Western Uttar Pradesh
25.71% polling in Ghaziabad till 11 am
26% polling in Baghpat till 11 am
11:55 am: 29% voting in Shamli till 11 am: ANI
10:25 am: Gagan Som, brother of BJP candidate Sangeet Som, has been detained by police after he carried a pistol inside a polling booth.
10:20 am: 10.56% voting registered till 9 am in the first phase of polls.
9:55 am: 15% voting in Muzaffarnagar till 9 am, reports ANI
9:31 am: The first polling figures have come in from Aligarh (10.5%) and Bulandshahr (12%) till 9 am.

Congress list of candidates for UP election 2017: List of 95 released for UP polls

Congress first list of 115 Candidates for BMC Polls 2017, election schedule, results

Minorities get only Rs 4,195 cr while SC Rs. 52,393 Cr, ST Rs 31,920 cr in Union Budget 2017

Who Is Neil Gorsuch – Trump Supreme Court nominee believes in religious freedom

Trump’s H-1B Visa Bill: What it is, minimum wage and lottery system

Union Budget 2017 – India’s Defence budget Rs. 2,74,114 crores, other highlights

Union Budget 2017 – Highlights of India’s first combined budget

BJP’s Yogi Adityanath demands Trump like Muslim ban in India

Constituencies of the first stage of election include Muzaffarnagar’ district’s Kirana, Badhana, Parqazi, Muzaffarnagar, Meerapur. Shamli district includes Thana Bhoon,n, Shamli, Charthawal, Khatoli. In Meerut are Sardhana, Hastinapur, Kathor, Meerut Cannt, Meerut South, Baghpath has Chhaprauli, Badot and Baghpath. In Ghaziabad are Looni, Muradnagar, Sahibabad, Ghaziabad and Modinagar, Gautam Budh Nagar has Naveda, Dadri and Jewar. Bulandshahr constituencies are Secundrabad, Bulandshahr, Siyana, Anoopshahr, Dibai, Shakarpur, Khurja. In aHapur are Dholana, Hapur, Garh Maktihur, In Aligarh are Khair, Baroli, Atrauli, Chhara, Kol, Aligarh and Aglas, Hathras has Hathras, Saeedabad, Secundra Mui. Mathura has Chhata, Gorurdhan, Mathura, Baldeo. Agra has Etmadpur, Agra Cantt, Agra South and Agra North, Agra Village, Fatehpur Sikri. Firozabad has Tundla, Jasrana, and Firozabad. Shikohabad, Sirsaganj, Kasganj, Amapur, Patiali, Etta has Etta, Marhara and Jalesar are the prominent ones among the many more.

About Admin1

Check Also

Cranberries lead singer Dolores O’Riordan dead, cause of death unexplained

ViewsHeadlines desk The sudden death of the Cranberries lead singer Dolores O’Riordan has shocked the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

15 − 13 =