Sunday , January 21 2018
Home / News / Samajwadi Party list of candidates for BMC elections 2017 – SP facing AIMIM challenge

Samajwadi Party list of candidates for BMC elections 2017 – SP facing AIMIM challenge

ViewsHeadlines Desk

Mumbai: Samajwadi Party is working hard to put up a better show in the forthcoming BMC election 2017 than the last time. The party is banking on its traditional vote bank of migrant workers from Uttar Pradesh and to some extent from Bihar and has been exuding confidence that it will do better.

Nonetheless, the party is facing an existential threat as far as Mumbai is concerned. The All India Majlis Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) led by firebrand Asaduddin Owaisi has successfully poached into its Muslim vote bank.

Muslims have been traditional supporters of the SP and AIMIM entry into Mumbai threatens this solid support that ensured its some success. AIMIM has attracted local leaders from different political parties including the NCP, Congress and other parties. Akbaruddin Owaisi and Asaduddin Owaisi’s fiery speech ensure huge success for their rallies throughout the city. So while the AIMIM may not be a challenge for the Shiv Sena or the BJP it is certainly a tough challenge for the Samajwadi Party.


The party has released a list of 85 candidates who will be contesting the upcoming BMC polls. 85 Samajwadi Party candidates filed their nomination on Friday which was the last day of filing the nomination to contest the Municipal elections. Among the 85 candidates, 3 candidates are the currently BMC corporates who will be once again contesting from the SP ticket.

Read more:

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017 Phase 1 Live Updates: Brisk voting being reported

Jayalalithaa protégé, Sasikala, becomes Tamil Nadu Chief Minister

After H-1B visa restriction, RAISE Act may destroy Green Card system

List of Congress candidates for Manipur election 2017, polling date and results schedule

Donald Trump Muslim ban – 9th US Circuit Court of Appeals judges reject travel ban

Sasikala Natarajan vs O Panneerselvam: Caste, community, education and other details

Know how Haj and Umrah operators are fleecing poor with super cheap options

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) candidates list for Uttar Pradesh Election 2017

Who is Sasikala Natarajan? Know everything about Tamil Nadu CM, Chinnamma

Panneerselvam revolts against Sasikala Natrajan: latest developments

Sasikala Natarajan – What media says about Jayalalithaa’s constant shadow

Congress list of candidates for UP election 2017: List of 95 released for UP polls

Congress first list of 115 Candidates for BMC Polls 2017, election schedule, results

Minorities get only Rs 4,195 cr while SC Rs. 52,393 Cr, ST Rs 31,920 cr in Union Budget 2017

Who Is Neil Gorsuch – Trump Supreme Court nominee believes in religious freedom

samajwadi party bmc 2017 list 1 samajwadi party bmc 2017 list 2 samajwadi party bmc 2017 list 3

Abu Asim Azmi, the President of Maharashtra unit of the SP said “Our candidates have been very active in their respective wards and I am confident that maximum of our candidates will emerge victorious in the elections”. Only time will tell, how the party will perform or if there will be a whitewash.

About Admin1

Check Also

Cranberries lead singer Dolores O’Riordan dead, cause of death unexplained

ViewsHeadlines desk The sudden death of the Cranberries lead singer Dolores O’Riordan has shocked the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × two =