Thursday , December 14 2017
Home / Featured / MCD Election Result 2017 – Name of Muslim winning candidates in Delhi, 7 women

MCD Election Result 2017 – Name of Muslim winning candidates in Delhi, 7 women

ViewsHeadlines Desk,

New Delhi: As the counting is over the picture has become very clear. BJP as predicted by the exit polls has crushed the Congress and Arvid Kejriwal led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Kejriwal whose party had won 57 out of the 60 assembly seats in Delhi was relegated to a distant second in the MCD election 2017.

Congress was not being given any chance in the election as it was neither a major player in the three corporations nor has any presence in the state assembly. By winning around 32 seats from all the three constituencies, the Congress seems to have shown some signs of life.

Shoaib Danish, Zakir Nagar councillor with Rahul Gandhi, Ajay Maken

But as far as Muslim community is concerned, Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party seems to be the main choice in the election. 7 Muslim candidates fighting on AAP ticket emerged victorious in largely Muslim constituencies. Congress party was the second choice for the community as six Muslim candidates won on Congress ticket while one candidate won on the BSP ticket. But the Congress party must be feeling happy that as far as Old Delhi area is concerned the community has largely backed the Congress party.

The most amazing aspect of Muslim winning candidates was the fact that 7 of the winners were women. But this might be more to do with the reservation of those wards for women candidates, than the sudden empowerment of the females in the community.

Abul Fazal Enclave           Abdul Wajid Khan            AAP

Daryaganj            Yasmin Kidwai   CONGRESS

Sarita Vihar         Juhi Khan             AAP

Zakir Nagar         Shoaib Danish.  CONGRESS

Ballimaran           MD Qazzafi         CONGRESS

Delhi Gate           Aaley Muhammad Iqbal                CONGRESS

Jama Masjid       Sultana Abad     CONGRESS

Quraish Nagar   Shaheen              AAP

Chauhan Banger               Abdul Rehman  AAP

Ghondli                Shahnawaz         AAP

Kardam Puri       Sazid      AAP

Mustafabad       Shakila Begum   AAP

Seelampur          Shakila Begum   BSP

Bazar Sita Ram  Seema Tahira  Congress

About Admin1

Check Also

Hadiya controversy: Is it a crime to be a Muslim?

By M. Burhanuddin Qasmi According to media reports that during the recent hearing of the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five × 5 =