Friday , December 15 2017
Home / News / Lexi Thompson 4 stroke penalty video going viral, Twitter reaction

Lexi Thompson 4 stroke penalty video going viral, Twitter reaction

ViewsHeadlines Desk,

Pro golfer Lexi Thompson will probably never forget the day. She was on the cusp of a massive win at ANA Inspiration when she got a four-stroke penalty for “incorrect ball placement.”

It was April 2 and not April Fool’s Day and Thompson was all set to win the ANA Inspiration, when the tournament officials told her about the penalty. The incorrect ball placement was first found by a television viewer, who called the tournament officials and told them about it.

There was no denying that she was in the contention at the time of being told about the wrong placement of the ball. To be true, she had a three-shot lead at the time of penalty imposition.

Most of the top analysts were expecting the beautiful girl to win the tournament, her second major championship at such a high level. A ESPN report claims that the player was “cruising to her second major championship when Tour rules officials informed her of the penalty with six holes to play.”

Later, a rather frustrated Thompson in an Instagram post said, “ Well it was an emotional day here for me, first off I do want to say what I had done was 100% not intentional at all I didn’t realize I had done that. I want to say thank you to all the sponsors, volunteers and Mission Hills for making this week possible at the @anainspiration! Also to the fans out there, words can’t describe what you being there for me, meant to me”.

You helped me push thru those last holes so thank you for always believing in me. A big thanks to my caddy as well for always staying positive and being there for me when it got tough. I played some great golf so definitely a lot of positives to take from the week. Time for a very needed 3 weeks off now. Thank you everybody

A CBS News while talking about the development said that a viewer “emailed the LPGA on Sunday…and Thompson was told about the penalty during the middle of her round and that she would be docked two strokes for the movement of the ball and two more for signing an incorrect scorecard.”

About Admin1

Check Also

Assam Muslim citizenship issue hangs in balance despite SC validating Gram Panchayat certificates

By M. Burhanuddin Qasmi The supreme court of India has allowed on 5 December 2017, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eleven + 11 =