Tuesday , October 17 2017
Home / Featured / BMC election 2017 live- Will Udhav Thackeray’s new aggressive style help Shiv Sena?

BMC election 2017 live- Will Udhav Thackeray’s new aggressive style help Shiv Sena?

ViewsHeadlines Desk,

Mumbai: Voting seems to have picked in the noon in the BMC elections 2017. Initially the voting was rather very slow, and till 11:30 a.m., only 17 percent voters had votes. Initially there were fears that it may be among the elections with lowest voter turnout despite unprecedented campaigning in the run up to the poll. Nonetheless the voting picked up in the noon and by 1:30 as many as 37 percent people had voted.

BMC polls 2017 are the bitterest elections in the history of the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation. Till last year, the BJP and the Shiv Sena had fought election together. But this year they have divorced each other and the divorce was very bitter, making an eventual severing of all ties loo like a sure possibility.


While it is unclear as to whether Shiv Sena will gain from the divorce, or the BJP will emerge victorious, the campaigning has shown the return of Bal Thackeray type rhetoric. And this seems to be coming from a rather placid sounding Udhav Thackeray, the Shiv Sena boss. He has shown the same attacking style of oratory that was once the hallmark of Bal Thackeray.

It is yet to be seen if the electorate in Mumbai will fall for him or not or give BJP a chance. Congress party too is looking forward to benefitting from the saffron divorce. But given the fact that the party organization is badly divided, it seems to be a rather very long shot.

In the meantime elections for 227 municipal wards in the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), in which 2,275 candidates are in the fray, began at 7.30 a.m. on Tuesday. Over 1.95 crore voters across the State are entitled to exercise their franchise to choose representatives for 10 city corporations, while over 1.80 crore people can cast their votes in the zila parishad and panchayat samiti polls. The districts going to polls in the second phase are Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, Satara, Sangli, Kolhapur, Pune, Solapur, Nashik, Amravati and Gadchiroli. Elections are being held in 118 panchayat samitis in these districts. The 10 municipal corporations include Mumbai, Thane, Ulhasnagar, Nashik, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Akola, Amravati and Nagpur.

About Admin1

Check Also

Yellowstone supervolcano eruption may happen sooner, destroy the entire planet earth

ViewsHeadlines Desk, Yellowstone volcano is said to be among the most potent volcanoes in the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × 1 =