Tuesday , October 17 2017
Home / News / 2718 candidates file nominations for BMC polls 2017 on Shiv Sena, Congress, BJP, AIMIM etc tickets

2718 candidates file nominations for BMC polls 2017 on Shiv Sena, Congress, BJP, AIMIM etc tickets

ViewsHeadlines Desk,

Mumbai: The BMC election 2017 fight is going to be very tough and unpredictable. Unlike last time there is no clear favorite. Last time Shiv Sena and the BJP fought the crucial elections in an alliance and won handsomely. But this time, BJP demanded more than 100 seats to remain in the alliance with Sena. When Shiv Sena didn’t show its preparedness to entertain its demand for higher number of seats, the BJP decided to go solo.

The separation of the two saffron parties has made predicting the outcome of the polls rather very difficult. While, the divorce has made the election look rather triangular fight between the Shiv Sena, the BJP and the Congress, it will be rather very early in the day to say something definite about the eventual outcome.


There is no denying that the level of enthusiasm is very high. It is not just because of the split in the saffron alliance, but also other factors. In the last BMC polls 2012, Maharashtra Nvnirman Sena or Raj Thackeray was a major force and had got around 28 seats. Nonetheless, it seems to have become irrelevant across the state. It didn’t win a single Lok Sabha seat in 2014 and fared miserably in assembly elections.

Read more

Shiv Sena list of Candidates for BMC Polls 2017 – some 31 finalized thus far

List of NCP candidates for BMC election 2017 with wards details

Congress first list of 115 Candidates for BMC Polls 2017, election schedule, results

BJP full list of candidates for BMC Polls 2017, election schedule, results

AIMIM list for BMC election 2017: 1st, 2nd, 3rd list for polls on Feb 21

Free for all between Shiv Sena, Congress, BJP, NCP, AIMIM in BMC polls 2017

BMC polls 2017 – Muslims have big chance due to Shiv Sena, BJP fight, says Abu Asim Azmi

In the BMC election 2017 as many as 2718 candidates are in the fray. They are vying for the 227 seats of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), election for which will be held on February 21. According to the final list, released by the electoral department of the BMC today, 13 political parties will slug it out to make it to the power corridors of the cash-rich civic body after February 23 (the counting day).

The biggest party in the BMC in the last few decades, Shiv Sena, has fielded candidates on all the 227 seats across the metropolis, while Congress will fight it out on 221, BJP on 211, MNS on 201, NCP on 171, BSP on 109, Samajwadi Party on 76 followed by first-timers Hyderabad-based AIMIM on 56 seats. AIMIM is expected to do well in some areas including Kurla and Byculla areas.

About Admin1

Check Also

Yellowstone supervolcano eruption may happen sooner, destroy the entire planet earth

ViewsHeadlines Desk, Yellowstone volcano is said to be among the most potent volcanoes in the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 + six =